Netflix: Dear White People

If you haven’t read my article “Netflix & Binge,” I showcased some shows that were worthy of binge watch title, and I hoped to drop another gem. Like a rare bird that only shows itself once a year, as can only hope to see it…. this is that show. Majestic as f**k.

Dear White People is an original Netflix series, based on the Movie and Book of the same name. Writer/Director Justin Simien brings you an interwoven story that focuses on the racial perspective of 6 student at the prestigious “Whinchester University,” as they battle topics of race, self identity, colorisum, and more.

Someone once told me that Winchester was like jazz. Now I don’t know much about jazz, but from what I can tell, when your solo is up, you better blow.”

-Lionel Higgins

If you’ve never seen the film (seriously go see the film), but fear not because the show uses the film plot too kick things off, all while seemingly expanding on it. It’s “A Different World” for a new generation, and I couldn’t be more happier with it’s 10 episodes run.

From the Black Student Union’s fredom fighter Sam (Logan Browning) and her friends Joelle & Rggie (Ashley Blaine & Marque Richardson), to the power of the legacy kid Troy (Brandon Bell) and his Uncle Tom-esque group, It’s a groundbreaking series that covers these socially volatile issues in a way thats not “beating a dead horse,” as its easy to get swept up in the students of Armstrong Parker Hall.

Boasting a beautiful soundtrack, and brimming with beautifully set camera shots, it’s a controversial comedy that challenges you to think. It won’t hold your hand or spoon feed you, and will gladly rate you as “woke” or nah.

Dear White People deserve to be binged watched, and it’s wickedly easy to slip into the series and see it’s joys. If you have to question if this show is for you, it’s not… it’s for us. Its proud to say the word “nigga,” and give no f***ks too the European standards of beauty or societies pressures on being black.

“Peace to the planet, and live awsome.”

-Kelby

3 thoughts on “Netflix: Dear White People

  1. I can definitely attest to this as well. I planned on getting a lot of writing done yesterday but instead I binged watch this instead lol and I have no regrets. Amazing show overall. Found myself laughing more than I expect to.

    Like

    • Lol same I saw the movie, and was ultimately ready when I heard the series was on the rise. After watching it, I was hooked with the same feelings that the movie gave me… and even shocked to see some of the movie cast in the show. Slight differences, but over all I cannot wait for a 2nd season!

      Like

Leave a Reply

